--- title: "Workflow Version History" slug: "workflow-version-history" tags: ["Workflow Builder"] updated: 2025-12-23T15:42:18Z published: 2025-12-23T15:42:18Z canonical: "docs.unqork.io/workflow-version-history" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.unqork.io/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Workflow Version History Workflow Version History helps Creators preview, audit, or restore previous versions of their Workflows. Workflow Version History enables the following benefits for users: - Review the links and nodes of a previous workflow to determine what is different from the current version. - Preview an older workflow in Express View. - Restore a previous workflow when issues occur. - Audit a workflow to track changes between UAT and Production builds. ## Accessing Workflow Version History Workflow Version History is located in the Workflow Builder. To access Workflow Version History: 1. Locate and open your workflow in the Workflow Builder. 2. At the top right, click the ![ellipsisButtonDummy.jpg](https://cdn.us.document360.io/15548f06-2fba-434c-b0c1-5df88317dbd7/Images/Documentation/ellipsisButtonDummy.jpg?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-26T12%3A46%3A30Z&se=2026-10-26T13%3A46%3A30Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=R3ffs8qs6V4dY%2FNDpanZQWrAazQ7tHJiULok5TMYGbk%3D) **(ellipsis)** button. 3. Select **Version History**. ![A static image of the Workflow Builder showing how Creators can access Workflow Version History by clicking the ellipsis button, then clicking Version History.](https://cdn.us.document360.io/15548f06-2fba-434c-b0c1-5df88317dbd7/Images/Documentation/Workflow_Version_History_Access.jpg?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-26T12%3A46%3A30Z&se=2026-10-26T13%3A46%3A30Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=R3ffs8qs6V4dY%2FNDpanZQWrAazQ7tHJiULok5TMYGbk%3D) ## Understanding Workflow Version History The Workflow Version History page has a similar layout to the Workflow Builder view. The drawer to the left displays the last 200 saved versions of the workflow. Select a previous workflow version to display it on the canvas. > [!NOTE] > Workflow Version History currently supports the last 200 most-recent saves. Most-recent saves older than the last 200 versions are still retained, but are not available in Workflow Version History at this time. ### Version History Drawer When viewing the Version History page, all versions are collapsed and sorted by date in the Version History drawer. Click a date to display workflow versions saved in that timeframe. Previously saved workflows display a title, date and time of save, and a description of the changes if the Creator provides them during the save process. ![An animated gif of a user accessing different workflow versions in the Version History side-bar .](https://cdn.us.document360.io/15548f06-2fba-434c-b0c1-5df88317dbd7/Images/Documentation/Workflow_Version_History_HistoryBar.gif?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-26T12%3A46%3A30Z&se=2026-10-26T13%3A46%3A30Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=R3ffs8qs6V4dY%2FNDpanZQWrAazQ7tHJiULok5TMYGbk%3D) ### Version History Preview Canvas The Version History Preview canvas lets you view each node and link present in the selected workflow version. Click on these nodes and links to view additional details, or click **Open** on [Task](/v1/docs/task-node) nodes to view the associated module. Nodes and links displayed on the preview canvas cannot be edited. To edit a previous version, follow the steps in the **Restore a Previous Workflow Version** section of this article. ![A static image displaying the Workflow Version History Preview Canvas, a Screen Task node displays with the Edit and Open buttons highlighted, a side-bar on the right side of the screen displays the Screen Task node's settings.](https://cdn.us.document360.io/15548f06-2fba-434c-b0c1-5df88317dbd7/Images/Documentation/Workflow_Version_History_PreviewCanvas.jpg?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-26T12%3A46%3A30Z&se=2026-10-26T13%3A46%3A30Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=R3ffs8qs6V4dY%2FNDpanZQWrAazQ7tHJiULok5TMYGbk%3D) ## Previewing a Previous Workflow Version in Express View Workflow Version History supports more than restoring a previous version. You can use the **Preview Version in Express** option to view how a saved workflow functions in Express View. > [!WARNING] > **Preview Version in Express** is not available for previous workflows that contain validation errors. To preview a previous workflow from the Workflow Version History menu: 1. Navigate to and select the workflow version you want to preview. 2. Click the ![ellipsisButtonDummy.jpg](https://cdn.us.document360.io/15548f06-2fba-434c-b0c1-5df88317dbd7/Images/Documentation/ellipsisButtonDummy.jpg?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-26T12%3A46%3A30Z&se=2026-10-26T13%3A46%3A30Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=R3ffs8qs6V4dY%2FNDpanZQWrAazQ7tHJiULok5TMYGbk%3D) **(ellipsis)** button. 3. Select **Preview Version in Express**. ![A static image displays the Version History side-bar, a previous workflow is selected and highlights the Preview version in Express button.](https://cdn.us.document360.io/15548f06-2fba-434c-b0c1-5df88317dbd7/Images/Documentation/Workflow_Version_History_PreviewVersion.jpg?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-26T12%3A46%3A30Z&se=2026-10-26T13%3A46%3A30Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=R3ffs8qs6V4dY%2FNDpanZQWrAazQ7tHJiULok5TMYGbk%3D) ## Restore a Previous Workflow Version Restoring an older workflow version creates a copy with the word **(RESTORED)** next to the title. A restored workflow functions the same as when it was saved. However, modules used in [Task](/v1/docs/task-node) nodes remain in their current version. To restore the Workflow to a previous version from the Workflow Version History menu: 1. Navigate to and select the Workflow version you intend to restore. 2. Click the ![ellipsisButtonDummy.jpg](https://cdn.us.document360.io/15548f06-2fba-434c-b0c1-5df88317dbd7/Images/Documentation/ellipsisButtonDummy.jpg?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-26T12%3A46%3A30Z&se=2026-10-26T13%3A46%3A30Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=R3ffs8qs6V4dY%2FNDpanZQWrAazQ7tHJiULok5TMYGbk%3D) **(ellipsis)** button. 3. Click **Restore**. A modal displays. 4. Click **Yes, Restore**. The page refreshes, and the workflow is restored to the selected version in the Workflow Builder. Workflow Version History displays **(RESTORED)** next to the affected workflow title. ![A static image displaying the Workflow Version History side-bar, with a previous workflow highlighted. The ellipsis button is selected and the Restore button is highlighted.](https://cdn.us.document360.io/15548f06-2fba-434c-b0c1-5df88317dbd7/Images/Documentation/Workflow_Version_History_RestoreButton.jpg?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-26T12%3A46%3A30Z&se=2026-10-26T13%3A46%3A30Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=R3ffs8qs6V4dY%2FNDpanZQWrAazQ7tHJiULok5TMYGbk%3D) Also known as Unqork Users, or Designer Users; is anyone who is inside the Unqork platform. Express View is how your end-user views your application. Express View also lets you preview your applications to test your configuration and view the styling. This is also the view your end-users will see when interacting with your application. After configuring a module, click Preview in the Module Builder to interact with the module in Express View. Use the UAT (user acceptance testing) environment to realistically test and navigate your applications as end-users would use them. The Production environment is the final stage of the development process. Use this environment to promote tested and functioning application so your end-user can interact with it. A UI (User Interface) Drawer is a layout panel that slides out from the side of the screen to display content. In UDesigner, components display their configuration panels in a drawer. A modal is a window that appears on top of the content you are currently viewing.